Promises

The past couple days have been unusually chilly, overcast, and drizzly.  Surprisingly, the gardens seem to be thriving in this unexpected gloom; the herbs and vegetables are taking off in a big way, and the promise of a sizable harvest next week is pretty real.

I’m not one to get depressed by a rainy, grey day.  I quite like them, for the most part.  There’s something about an overcast sky that I find comforting.  I think, more than anything, it’s probably because an overcast day gives you options.  If it’s sunny and warm outside, there’s no excuse not to hang the laundry on the clothesline, mow the lawn, till the garden, plant seeds, work on that loose board on the chicken coop, etc., etc., etc.

A grey and rainy day gives you permission to throw the clothes into the dryer, catch up on Facebook, and grab a coffee with a friend.  Sort of a license to be lazy, if you will.

I know I will.

But I will also continue to notice the progress of the farm as everything is growing toward its eventual summer bounty.  And recently, I noticed how many flowers are popping up all over the place.

I don’t mean the sort of beautiful flowers you see planted alongside people’s houses or the beginnings of decorative summer blooms.  I mean the kinds of flowers that are a promise of what’s to come.

While weeding the other day, I realized that our tomatoes, raspberries, wine berries, and squash had already sent a memo that fruit was on its way.  And if these don’t brighten up the gloom, I can’t imagine what would.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

squash

squash

Blackberries

Blackberries

 

Wine Berries

Wine Berries

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Promises

  1. Mom says:

    They’re beautiful! I definitely see a family resemblance. xoxo Mom

Leave a Reply

