Hypnotizing a Chicken

Here it is, Ladies and Gentlemen–your moment of zen.

About applewoodfarm

Restaurateur, farmer, bartender, beekeeper, friend, wife, mother, dog lover, cat tolerater, chicken hypnotizer, blogger, and sometime yogi
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hypnotizing a Chicken

  1. Jake Cohen says:

    the look on Laura’s face right around 0:13 is just priceless.

  2. Becca says:

    That’s awesome! I have to try this.

  3. Bill says:

    Please explain this. This is a skill I would really like to acquire. 🙂

    • As I understand it, it is a TERRIBLE defense mechanism on the part of the chicken. They enter a state of temporary paralysis when presented with threat (real or perceived). Why a chicken finds a line in the ground a threat, I cannot imagine. Why they are compelled to stare at the line for upwards of 30 minutes, I also cannot imagine. It is, however, a hilarious parlor trick which has given us seconds… nay minutes… of joy and laughter.

      • Bill says:

        I’ve never heard of this before, but now I have to try it! Some goats will go into a state like that when you lay them down, but I had no idea a chicken would. This makes my day. thanks. 🙂

  4. My post lady told me about hypnotising chickens but she had not showed me how to do it yet. Now, I know! Funny. 🙂 I like your writing and your stories, Keep up the good work and good luck with your beekeeping (I’ve always wanted to do it…)

Leave a Reply

