The Shine On Award

shine-on-award

I received a note today that I was nominated for the WordPress Shine On Award.

What follows is what I think I was supposed to do in response to this lovely honor.

Maybe I’m doing this wrong, but hopefully it will be a tiny bit enjoyable and even more informative.

The Rules:

1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog, and link back.
3. Share seven random, interesting things about yourself.
4. Nominate up to 15 bloggers for the Shine On Award, provide a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.

Many thanks to The Belmont Rooster for nominating my blog!

Despite having been blogging for a year, I do tend to operate within a bubble.  I’m still pretty inept at navigating the WordPress website and I certainly didn’t know that there were awards for blogs.  In all honesty, I’m not entirely sure what a blog award is or does or will do, but it’s always nice to be noticed.

When you aren’t busy reading my blog, you should certainly check out The Belmont Rooster‘s blog.  He found me one day and has been nothing but lovely and supportive in his comments.  His blog is personal, interesting, and sometimes raw.  It is an unapologetic glimpse into the life of this gentle spirit; sometimes about gardening, sometimes about life.  Always worth checking out! http://thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com/

Seven random, interesting things about me:

1. I am a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and, along with my husband, own a small Brooklyn restaurant called applewood (www.applewoodny.com).

2. I had both of my children at home and gave birth to my second daughter just three weeks after opening our restaurant.  She spent the first seven and a half months of her life “working” with me.  I wore her in a sling and worked with her on my hip.  She napped in a bouncy seat atop the garde manger cooler.

3. I have a really high threshold for spicy food and can eat almost nothing without adding some form of heat.

4. My father died from lung cancer when I was 27.  I was in the room with him, my brother, and my aunt when he died.  It took me almost a year and a half after his death to quit smoking.

5. I read the entire seven-book Harry Potter series aloud, with character voices, to my eldest daughter.  I’m two books into my second round with my younger daughter right now.

6. My husband and I both intended to buy each other tickets to Levon Helm’s Ramble for our anniversary.  He died one month beforehand.

7. When living in Jerusalem in the early 90s, I missed my bus because a friend needed to make a quick last-minute purchase.  The bus we missed ended up being attacked by an axe-wielding teenager who killed one person and injured six others.

My Nominees:

These are some blogs I think are worth visiting:

Practicing Resurrection (http://practicingresurrection.wordpress.com/)

Bill’s blog is my absolute favorite.  He posts daily like clockwork; his blog arrives in my email inbox at 6:40 a.m., almost without fail.  His writing is eloquent and thoughtful and I have come to look forward to seeing what interesting thing he has decided to share with us each day.  He and his wife have a wonderful farm in Virginia and his writing covers the goings-on at the farm, antics with the animals, food and farm politics, and the occasional inspirational quotation.  I cannot recommend this blog highly enough.

The Lighthearted Woodworker (http://thelightheartedwoodworker.com/)

Chris’ blog is always a treat.  The posts are few and far between, which only makes me look forward to them that much more.  He is an accomplished woodworker whose creations are creative and beautifully crafted.  His passion for the craft comes through in every post.  He is as enthusiastic about woodworking as he is about the tools of the trade.  I learn something new with every installment.

Tim Ebneth (http://www.timebneth.com/archives/category/blog)

Tim is an insanely talented painter and sculptor.  His blog is a wonderful forum for seeing examples of his work, finding out about upcoming shows, and reading about whats happening in today’s art world.

Life in Mud Spattered Boots (http://annewheaton.co.uk/)

A fun blog from the United Kingdom.  Anne writes all about activities and projects on and around her farm.  There are always useful hints and tips and sometimes even some great DIY project ideas.  Totally worth a peek!

About applewoodfarm

Restaurateur, farmer, bartender, beekeeper, friend, wife, mother, dog lover, cat tolerater, chicken hypnotizer, blogger, and sometime yogi
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Shine On Award

  1. Bill says:

    Aww, shucks. Thank you for your kind words Laura. The truth is, when I read your posts I usually think, “That’s what I wish my blog was like.” And your restaurant sounds amazing. I doubt I’ll ever again be in Brooklyn, but if that should come to pass I know exactly where I plan to eat. 🙂

  2. AWESOME!!! What a great post! You are a great inspiration to other bloggers and I always look forward to your posts! Keep up the great work. Thanks for the comment about me and my blog!

  3. Thank you for nominating my blog. I’ve enjoyed reading your random facts!

  4. Mom says:

    ALWAYS proud of your achievements, be they personal or business related. Congrats on being nominated for this award.
    OTOH: Interesting fact #6 reads very strangely. For those who don’t know you, it’s unclear who died a month before.

    xoxo Mom

  5. Pingback: Blogging « Practicing Resurrection

Leave a Reply

