Making (Not-Fancy) Beeswax Candles

Clean, beautiful beeswax

Clean, beautiful beeswax

After spinning out last summer’s honey, I was able to clean the wax cappings and get a little over a half pound of clean, beautiful beeswax.

I realize that’s not much, but it’s a little over a half pound more than I’ve ever gotten before, so I was pleased.

The process was time-consuming and messy (you can read about it here), but ultimately worth it, if even just to be able to make a few candles.

Now, there are many beautiful molds and kits out there for making lovely and elaborate votives, tapers, ornaments, you name it.  All I really wanted to do, however, was to create a few simple candles for our very infrequent and utilitarian purposes.

So, I kept it really simple, using entirely stuff I had around the house (except wicking; I had to buy wicking).

DSC_0017Ingredients:

  • Wicking
  • Pennies
  • Sticks or pencils (I used wooden skewers)
  • Hot glue gun
  • Beeswax
  • Coconut Oil
  • Scissors
  • Candle votive (I used 4 oz. Ball jars)

DSC_0020First, I cut the wick into equal-length pieces, measuring from the bottom of my jar to about two inches above the top of the rim.  This gave me enough extra wicking to secure at both ends.

I then hot-glued one end of each piece of wicking to a penny.  This will serve as the base and weight for each wick.

DSC_0021Next, the penny-weighted wicks were placed into the center of each jar and tied at the top to a wooden skewer (but you can use a pencil or a comb or a pregnancy test or anything you like) to keep the wick as straight as possible.

Over a double boiler (basically a bowl fitted over a pot of boiling water), I melted the beeswax.  For my half-pound of beeswax,  1/3 cup of coconut oil was added to the melted wax.

DSC_0025Once the mixture was melted completely together, I poured enough into each jar to coat the wicks and the pennies.  This allows the set-up to set up (!) and ensures that the wick is properly coated for a nice, even burn once the candle is lit.

The remaining wax-oil mixture is then poured into the jars until they are filled.  At this point, they need to sit, untouched,  for 24 hours.

After being allowed to sit, the candles will still be softish, but will be firm enough to cut away your stick-of-choice and trim the wick to about 1/4 inch.

After cutting away the stick and wick, allow the candles to sit another 24 hours before lighting.

DSC_0002When you do decide to light your candle, be sure to light the wick at the base, closest to the candle top.  This will help it burn more evenly.

I don’t know why.

About applewoodfarm

Restaurateur, farmer, bartender, beekeeper, friend, wife, mother, dog lover, cat tolerater, chicken hypnotizer, blogger, and sometime yogi
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making (Not-Fancy) Beeswax Candles

  1. Rvncj@aol.com says:

    You are amazing – a real pioneer!! Love to be part of it all through your blog. Claudette

Leave a Reply

